Veterans Benefits
Financial Assistance
Memorial Affairs
VA Medical Transportation
WELCOMEABOUT USMISSION STATEMENTVISION STATEMENTCOMMISSIONERSMEET THE STAFFVETERANS CRISIS LINE

As Americans, we all share the responsibility of protecting our service men and women. And as fellow veterans, it’s our duty. The Cuyahoga County Veterans Service Commission understands the issues Veterans are facing, and we offer a holistic approach to helping Veterans and their families fight against unexpected hardships. From VA benefits to emergency financial assistance, memorial affairs, medical transportation, and so much more, we are here to ease your stress and help you regain your footing.

We encourage all honorably discharged veterans living in Cuyahoga County to let us know how we can help. There are a variety of no-cost services that may be available to you. Please look through our website or call us at (216) 698-2600 to speak with a fellow Veteran who is ready to assist you.

Thank you for your service.

About Us

The Veterans Service Commission was established to assist honorably discharged veterans, their spouses and minor children. We prepare claims for the Federal Department of Veterans Affairs so that veterans and their eligible dependents can receive compensation, pension and education benefits. We also assist our clients who have met with unexpected hardships by providing financial assistance to help with mortgage, rent, food, utilities and other expenses of daily life. We prepare veterans for employment and provide resources that enhance their qualifications for new careers. Our social work staff can provide a case managed environment for those clients who need more direct intervention.

While the Veterans Service Commission is not funded by, or associated with the Federal Department of Veterans Affairs, our Service Department assists veterans and their families with VA claims.

The Veterans Service Commission does not take applications over the phone and will never call you to solicit any personal information such as Social Security number, VA claim number, or date of birth. Do not give any of your personal information to anyone who calls you claiming to represent any agency.

The Veterans Service Commission is legislated by the State of Ohio and funded by Cuyahoga County property taxes.

Each of the 88 Veterans Service Commissions in the State of Ohio has a board of five Commissioners created under the Ohio Revised Code, ORC 5901, who administer the programs for their respective counties.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Veterans Service Commission is to continue to provide direct and indirect financial assistance and other benefits to veterans and their dependents who have met with an unexpected hardship resulting from illness, injury, or loss of employment, and meet eligibility requirements. The Commission has established outreach programs with other county, state and federal agencies to assist veterans and their dependents with employment and training for employment, so they have all of the tools needed to re-enter the workforce and not be dependent on this Commission for assistance. This Commission also assists in initiating claims for benefits, obtaining documents to substantiate proof for these benefits, provides free graves and funerals for honorably discharged indigent veterans, and procures grave markers for veterans.

Vision Statement

Founded in 1886, The Cuyahoga County Veterans Service Commission is committed to providing world class service to veterans where and when they need it. We will continue to identify opportunities to improve and eliminate gaps in service when they present themselves. We are more than simply the services we provide, we are the conduit for expanding services, improving collaboration, improving access to services and creating solutions to the problems that face our veteran community. We will be highly trained, knowledgeable, compassionate, and dedicated advocates for the veterans of Cuyahoga County.

Commissioners

Mel Baher - American Legion
www.legion.org

Frank Pocci - AMVETS
www.amvets.org

William Caine - Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
www.dav.org

Clayton Uzell - Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW)
www.vfw.org

Bob Potts - Vietnam Veterans of America (VVA)
www.vva.org

Meet the Staff

Leadership Team

Executive Director
Jon Reiss
(216) 698-2651
jreiss@cuyahogacounty.us

Service Department Manager
Melinda Halliburton
(216) 698-2639
mhalliburton@cuyahogacounty.us

Financial Operations Manager
Steve Fernandez
(216) 698-2391
sfernandez@cuyahogacounty.us

Administrative Assistant
Mary Kitko
(216) 698-2651
mkitko@cuyahoagacounty.us

Executive Secretary (Board of Commissioners)
Lorri Slivka
(216) 698-2646
lslivka@cuyahogacounty.us

Social Work Coordinator
Terry Walker
(216) 698-2379
twalker@cuyahogacounty.us

Administrative Team

Quality Assurance Coordinator
Patricia Smith
(216) 698-2628
pasmith@cuyahogacounty.us

Outreach Coordinator
Adam Sandor
(216) 698-2637
asandor@cuyahogacounty.us

Network Administrator
Sylvester Byers
(216) 698-2394
sbyers@cuyahogacounty.us

Receptionist
Laura Scullin
(216) 698-2626
lscullin@cuyahogacounty.us

Operations Specialist
Patricia Galbraith
(216) 698-2635
pgalbraith@cuyahoagacounty.us

Operations Specialist
Colleen Kehoe
(216) 698-2392
ckehoe@cuyahogacounty.us

Operations Specialist
Cathy Readinger
(216) 698-2397
(216) 698-2655
creadinger@cuyahogacounty.us

Veterans Service Officers

Larry Amato (VARO)
(216) 698-2606
lamato@cuyahogacounty.us

James Campana (MAIN)
(216) 698-2606
jcampana@cuyahogacounty.us

Iris Dehart (WP)
(216) 791-3800 ext. 6167
idehart@cuyahogacounty.us

Robert Erb (WP)
(216) 791-3800 ext. 6079
rerb@cuyahogacounty.us

Libby Jenkins (WP)
(216) 707-6405
ljenkins@cuyahogacounty.us

Charlene Jorge (VAOC)
(216) 739-7000 ext. 2406
cjorge@cuyahogacounty.us

Kenneth Lane (MAIN)
(216) 698-2626
klane@cuyahogacounty.us

Elizabeth McKenna (MAIN)
(216) 698-2626
emckenna@cuyahogacounty.us

Thomas Pearce (MAIN)
(216) 698-3830
tpearce@cuyahogacounty.us

Tawinka Sloan (MAIN)
(216) 698-2626
tsloan@cuyahogacounty.us

William Vissi (MAIN)
(216) 698-2618
wvissi@cuyahogacounty.us

Eligibility Specialists

Jeanne Bell (CRRC)
(216) 391-0264 ext. 2015
(216) 698-2937
jbell@cuyahogacounty.us

Geniece Garner (MAIN)
(216) 698-2937
ggarner@cuyahogacounty.us

Robert Markowitz (MAIN)
(216) 698-2732
rmarkowitz@cuyahoagacounty.us

Jennifer Mazzeo (WP)
(216) 791-3800 ext. 4154
jmazzeo@cuyahogacounty.us

( ) indicates location
WP = Wade Park VA Medical Center
CRRC = Community Resource Referral Center
VARO = VA Regional Office / Federal Building
VAOC = VA Outpatient Clinic
MAIN = Our Cleveland Office

Veterans Crisis Line

The Veterans Crisis Line connects veterans in crisis and their families and friends with qualified, caring Department of Veterans Affairs responders through a confidential toll-free hotline. Veterans and their loved ones can call 1-800-273-8255 and press 1 to receive confidential support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Support for individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing can click here for support.

Veterans Crisis Line

SpeadTheWord

SpreadTheWord

SpreadTheWord

Check out our YouTube channel! Coming Soon!
Have an upcoming event? Request a Service Officer to attend it and serve you.

REQUEST

Stay Connected

Stay connected on all the most recent information, including calendars, news and events
that the Veterans Service Commission offers.

Click here to go to our News and Events page.

Check us out on Social Media.

CCW